Home > Adult Reading Level, Fiction, Mystery > Jill Churchill Owes Literature an Apology

Jill Churchill Owes Literature an Apology

Any Jill Churchill fans out there?  You just lurve those Jane Jeffry “novels?”  Well, this post is [not] for you!  For those who don’t know, Jill Churchill writes (among others) a series of books about a character named Jane Jeffry.  The books are mysteries– cutesy, cozy, mysteries.  As evidenced by Jill’s URL; cozybooks.com.  Barf.  Gag.  Erp.  Blech.

As a rule, I haven’t read “cozy” mysteries since I was in my mid-20’s.  I used to be a huge fan of Qwill and his two cats, Koko and Yum Yum.  However, I grew up and, while I accept that those stories have a huge place in “literature,” they no longer have a spot on my bookshelf.  Sorry, I’m lying here.  My collection of Lillian Jackson Braun books up to 1999 still has real estate in my home library.

My issue today isn’t with the “cozy” mystery genre.  It is with Jill Churchill and her blatant rape of world literature, for personal profit, through the vehicle of this Jane Jeffry series.  You see, every book in the Jane Jeffry series has a title that directly rips off another title from classic literature.  I can’t stand this.  Her titles include:

War and Peas cover

Turd of the Week, War and Peas, by Jill Churchill

  • Grime and Punishment
  • A Farewell to Yarns
  • A Quiche Before Dying
  • The Class Menagerie
  • A Knife to Remember
  • From here to Paternity
  • Silence of the Hams
  • War and Peas
  • Fear of Frying
  • The Merchant of Menace
  • A Groom with a View
  • Mulch Ado About Nothing
  • The House of Seven Mabels
  • Bell, Book, and Scandal
  • A Midsummer Nights Scream
  • The Accidental Florist

How dare this hack ride on the backs of literary giants (yes, I said giants) to sell books?  And, really, what did Shakespeare ever do to you, Jill Churchill?  Why did you feel the need to bother the Bard twice?  Every time I have to catalog one of this cow’s disgustingly pandering titles I groan, yes, groan out loud.  Go to Hell Jill Churchill; I’m pretty sure Dante saved a special seat for you.

  1. Meredith W.
    July 14, 2011 at 10:52 am

    Do you think her Dante book will be the feline comedy? har har!

  2. EHB
    July 14, 2011 at 10:54 am

    Probably. That woman is awful. Oh my gawd…Feline Comedy. She’s probably already writing it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

