Home > Personal Philosophy, Welcome > You’re glad I’m here.

You’re glad I’m here.

Hi there everyone.  Although, there really isn’t anyone here yet since I just revived this old dusty WordPress blog.  This blog is a very long time coming and that is why I just know you’re going to be glad I’m finally here.

About me:  I am a librarian.  As a librarian I split my time between traveling all over the state talking about library stuff and sitting pretty station-arily (yes, I make up words to suit my needs) at my desk cataloging books.

About me cataloging:  I just came off of a 14 month marathon in which I cataloged about 20,000 “retrospective” titles from our old format collection.

About formats:  I forgot to tell you that I’m a librarian for a regional LBPH library.  That’s a Library for the Blind of Physically Handicapped for those not “in the biz.”  When I say format, what I mean is that first our books were on reel to reel tapes (I could be making that up), then record albums, then flexible discs, then 4-track cassettes, and now they are on flash drive.

Again with the cataloging:  While cataloging those 20,000 retro titles I ran into some real dogs.  Titles that made me say, “who the eff thought this was a good idea?”

Birth of a blog:  this blog will be a chance for me to share with you some of those titles that just make me wonder…Who’s [actually] Reading This?

  1. Cynde
    June 23, 2011 at 12:36 pm

    I do not have the book, but you have picked one near and dear to my heart, as I totally believe in Native American Philosphy. In my studies, it was very interesting to find out that Native Americans believe that gay and lesbian individuals are the most revered people, as they have the ability to see both sides.

  2. EHB
    June 23, 2011 at 1:12 pm

    You should definitely check it out at the library then! It’s a good one.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

